

## AN OPEN LETTER FROM AMERICA'S FORMER FEDERAL JUDGES

As our nation approaches its 250<sup>th</sup> anniversary, the role of our federal judiciary faces increasing scrutiny. Our founders envisioned a nation of laws, premised on three separate and coequal branches of government. For nearly two-and-a-half centuries, this structure of our constitutional democracy has served as a beacon of light at home and abroad.

We, as former members of the federal judiciary, care deeply about our Constitution and our Country. While the debate over the metes and bounds of each branch is older than the Republic itself, the need for an independent judiciary, free from coercion, has never been questioned. As Alexander Hamilton reminded his countrymen, "there is no liberty, if the power of judging be not separated from the legislative and executive powers."

The approaching semiquincentennial is surely a time for reflection on these founding principles, but it is also a time for action. Although we come from different corners of America and have been appointed by Presidents of both parties, we former members of the third branch are ready for our third act.

We pledge not only to keep our Republic, but to strengthen it. To defend the rule of law. To protect the independence of the judiciary. To kindle and inspire an informed citizenry. And to dedicate ourselves to the unending duty of protecting our sacred democracy.

For the light of a democracy is not doused, but its unstoked flames can weaken and become faint. We call on all our former colleagues to join us in tending to our democracy through the Article III Coalition. Sincerely,

Keep Our Republic's Article III Coalition:

Judge John W. Bissell – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey

**Judge Michael Burrage** – Formerly of the U.S. District Courts for the Eastern, Northern & Western Districts of Oklahoma

**Judge Robert J. Cindrich** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania

**Judge David H. Coar** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Illinois

**Judge Andre M. Davis** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland & U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

**Judge Bernice B. Donald** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Tennessee & U.S. Court of Appeals for the Sixth Circuit

Judge Allyson K. Duncan – Formerly of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit

**Judge Gary E. Feess** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Judge Jeremy D. Fogel** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California

**Judge Royal Furgeson, Jr.** – Formerly of the U.S. District Courts for the Western District of Texas & Northern District of Texas

**Judge Vanessa D. Gilmore** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Texas

**Judge Irma E. Gonzalez** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of California

**Judge Andrew J. Guilford** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Judge Thelton Henderson** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of California

**Judge Faith S. Hochberg** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey

"A REPUBLIC, IF WE CAN KEEP IT."

KeepOurRepublic.org

Keep Our Republic is a 501c3 tax-exempt organization.

**Judge Richard J. Holwell** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York

**Judge John E. Jones III** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Middle District of Pennsylvania

Judge George H. King – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Judge Robert B. Kugler** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey & U.S. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court

**Judge Timothy K. Lewis** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Pennsylvania & U.S. Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit

**Judge Beverly B. Martin** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Georgia & U.S. Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

**Judge John S. Martin** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of New York

Judge A. Howard Matz – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Chief Judge Paul R. Michel** – Formerly of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Judge Carlos R. Moreno – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Judge Margaret M. Morrow** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Judge Liam O'Grady** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia & U.S. Foreign Intelligence Surveillance Court

**Judge Kathleen M. O'Malley** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Northern District of Ohio & U.S. Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit

**Judge Stephen M. Orlofsky** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of New Jersey

Judge Layn R. Phillips – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Oklahoma

Judge Philip M. Pro – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of Nevada

"A REPUBLIC, IF WE CAN KEEP IT."

KeepOurRepublic.org

Keep Our Republic is a 501c3 tax-exempt organization.

**Judge Victoria A. Roberts** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan

Judge David S. Tatel – Formerly of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the D.C. Circuit

**Judge Dickran M. Tevrizian** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Central District of California

**Judge John Daniel Tinder** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Indiana & U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

**Judge Ursula M. Ungaro** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Southern District of Florida

**Judge T. John Ward** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Eastern District of Texas

Judge Paul J. Watford – Formerly of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit

**Judge Alexander Williams, Jr.** – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the District of Maryland

Judge Diane P. Wood – Formerly of the U.S. Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

Judge Lee Yeakel – Formerly of the U.S. District Court for the Western District of Texas